Glenn Beck Can Take His Rally and Shove It!

If you’re a fan of political satire, Jon Stewart, Stephen Colbert, and/or being in huge crowds where you only have space to breathe then the “Rally to Restore Sanity and/or Fear” was the rally for you.

Let me start by saying that on my way to the rally I saw at least 5 car wrecks.

Anyway, when it came to the rally lucky for me I am not claustrophobic or had little children with me. I don’t even think the word “packed” describes it. There wasn’t even space enough to turn around. If you did manage to turn around and then turn back you could lose the person you were with. It happened to me. My aunt says I left her. She never told me she was going to buy some shirts and I couldn’t miss the rally.

I remember thinking “I hope no one has to pee because if they go to the bathroom they will not get their spot back.”

I could hear police screaming for people to get off the street and I thought “Get off the street to where? There’s nowhere to go!” I didn’t know where the street ended and where the sidewalk began.

The sing- a- longs were really enjoyable though. And the signs were awesome. Some were: “Legalize pot,  a country divided really sucks, God hates Bags, I like my tea with a little bit of sanity, I’m pretty sure Hitler is Hitler, I hate myself for being Liberal, military families for peace, make love the only law, I am afraid that Stephen Colbert will not run for President”, among many others.

The musical acts were The Roots, Jeff Tweedy, Mavis Staples, Sheryl Crow, Kid Rock, T.I. (on tape) Ozzy Osbourne, Yusuf Islam, John Legend, the O’ Jays, and Tony Bennett. The musical acts all joined on stage and sang “I’ll Take You There” as the last song of the day.

Overall, I enjoyed the rally. But I would like to leave a messege for Sirs. Colbert and Stewart: Next time either of you two has a rally can you pick a bigger space and make it closer to New York please.

There was a scary moment when a tree branch some people were sitting on broke and they fell. The people around me started yelling for police and ambulance. Apparently, someone in the crowd was injured by the branch when it broke.

As if that wasn’t enough on my way home on the New Jersey Turnpike there was a traffic jam and I saw this man standing outside his car facing his open door on the driver’s side urinating on the turnpike.

How is that for sanity? Although, it did give me fear. Colbert would be proud.

Leave a comment