My Definition of “Sonnet”: To Struggle

Writing a sonnet is so hard to do

Shakespeare I’m not. What do you expect?

I know that others are struggling too

Doing this makes me feel like a reject

As I write this sonnet my brain is strained

I want to sleep and get lost in my dreams

I am drawing a blank going insane

In my head I can hear my helpless screams

Others with this struggle can empathize

I have no luck and words are hard to find

I wish I could lie down and close my eyes

If the sandman came by I would not mind

This sonnet is probably not my best

But it is time to close my eyes and rest.

Leave a Reply

